Hearing a Memory

I think we have all heard the concept that smell is the sense most tied to memory. I wish I could say that I understand this concept but I have a horrible sense of smell. It has its drawbacks- I have eaten rotten food a couple of times without knowing it, but it comes in handy being a preschool teacher- poopy diapers are never a problem.

I have always wondered what it meant to smell something and connect it to a memory. The sense I most connect with memory is hearing. If I hear a few chords of a song it can instantly takes me back to a memory where I can clearly recall the features of a room and even the positioning of the sun at the time.

Masa and I were talking about what music we wanted our ceremony musicians to play and he came up with the brilliant idea of Final Fantasy music. We are both huge Final Fantasy fans and we both think Nobuo Uematsu, the composer, is brilliant. His music is so expressive and listening to it makes me remember all the fun hours I had playing the game.

This will be our recessional song:
Final Fantasy Theme

I have been listening to classical music a lot lately. My love for it was rekindled when I saw the viral video for the choral and orchestra version of Call Me Maybe . Watching the video made me remember all the fun I had being a band student- the strong sense of community, the whole band going into crescendo together, and the feeling you have when you lose yourself in music.

How did you choose your music for your ceremony?

 

Leave a Reply

