A Very Kyoto Day

When people ask me why I moved to Japan its difficult to answer. I know what people are expecting me to say- “I love Japanese culture- temples, kimono, green tea, and ancient castles. There is such a rich history!” Well,  this is not the case with me. I have never been interested in anything about old Japan, and  my go- to excuse for when someone invites me out to see a temple is “If you’ve seen one temple you’ve seen them all.” I was always more interested in the weird, modern world that is Japan- Sailor Moon, JPop, Final Fantasy, and Haruki Murakami. I knew from the start that I when I moved to the Kansai area that I would spend my time in Osaka- a very huge modern metropolis, rather than Kyoto- the ancient capital of Japan that is full of temples and shrines.

She is the one! Sailor Moon! Photo from imdb.com

She is the one! Sailor Moon!
Photo from imdb.com

As expected, I fell in love with Osaka and lived there for quite some time. However, I somehow ended up living in Kyoto for a few years after my stint in Osaka and I learned to enjoy the city.  I still have no desire to see any temples or castles, but there are so many beautiful shops, restaurants, and markets there that are truly amazing.

This weekend I headed out to Kyoto to meet up with a few of my friends.  We are all in the same Meetup group and hang out with each other all over the Kansai Area.

I first met up with my friend H and we walked through the Nishiki market. It’s a street that has dozens of stands that sell fish, pickles, and cute knick- knacks. This place is very Japanese-y and I highly recommend  a walk down this road if you have the chance.  Be careful though, it can get pretty crowded sometimes.

DSCF1178

A very cute fruit stand

DSCF1177

Cute Stuff!

DSCF1176

More cute stuff!

DSCF1175 DSCF1173

DSCF1171

Pickled vegetables

DSCF1174

We had lunch and then headed to a very cute yarn store called Avril, which has beautiful specialty yarn.

DSCF1162

My friend H told me to look natural and this is what I did. It looks like I’m considering eating this ball of yarn.

DSCF1160 DSCF1161 DSCF1164

We then meet up with our other group members who had gone to the Toji Temple Flea Market earlier that day(Temple? Count me out!) and scored an adorable find- these cute Kokeshi dolls.

DSCF1165

My friend H and I shared green tea cheesecake as well (I love splitting desserts- only half the calories!)

DSCF1167

Walking through Nishiki Market and eating green tea cheese cake while I looked at Kokeshi dolls made me feel as if I had a very “Kyoto” kind of day. It was really nice, and I look forward to having one again.

Leave a Reply

