DIY Cork Projects

Hello Hive, I just wanted to share a little something about myself- I love wine!

hhh

Drinking wine and feeling fine!

Mr. Gondola knows that I love wine so much he proposed to me at a winery. I knew that I definitely wanted a few wine related projects at my wedding and I am so lucky that the internet is full of them.

Top image via Hope Studios/ Photography by Jennifer Juniper Bottom Left image via  Etsy.com/ Shop: I Do Custom Events Bottom Right Image via greenweddingshoes.com/Photography by Katherine Elizabeth

Top image via Hope Studios/ Photography by Jennifer Juniper Bottom Left image via Etsy.com/ Shop: I Do Custom Events Bottom Right Image via greenweddingshoes.com/Photography by Katherine Elizabeth

I settled on two simple projects:

1. A cork stand to hold an informational card about Mr. Gondola and me for the American wedding

I love our custom illustration from lovebirdsgoods.com

I love our custom illustration from lovebirdsgoods.com!

2. Place card stands for the Japanese wedding.

IMG_1428

Both of these projects are extremely easy and all you need is a hot glue gun and some wine corks.

First I had to collect the wine corks. I saw that wine corks were sold pretty cheaply on Etsy but I figured I could save all the wine corks I used and ask my family to save all of theirs as well.

In about 5 months I saved about 16 wine corks.

My box of saved corks.

My box of saved corks.

My family, on the other hand, saved 100- literally 100.

IMG_1402

I first started with the cork stands.

My inspiration from  stylemepretty.com

My inspiration via 
stylemepretty.com / Photography by onelove photography

I first picked out corks that were all about the same height and weren’t too wobbly when placed upright. I then applied hot glue about 3/4 of the way up of the cork and glued two corks together.

IMG_1410

The higher you place the glue the higher your information card will stand. So if you want your card to fit deeply in the cork stand apply the glue about half way up.  I did three more pairs of corks until I had four pairs and then hot glued those all together to make the stand. This task took about 15 minutes.

IMG_1401

Be careful not to put to much hot glue on the corks. When you squeeze them together the glue will ooze out and harden. For the most part the glue is clear, but it can look white and become quite noticible.

I then started on the cork stands.  At first, I experimented with different methods to see which one would be the most stable. First I sawed a line into the cork and had the card sit in the groove, but the corks were too wobbly and would sometime fall down and I did not want to worry about falling corks on the day of the wedding.

I then tried hot gluing two corks with the place card standing in between, but not all of the corks I had were stable enough to stay upright.

My inspiration from  http://www.theknot.com

Two corks with the place card in between. Cute, but not very stable.
Image via www.theknot.com/ Event by Vineyard Setting

Then Mr. G had the great idea of laying the corks down and it worked like a charm! I pushed two corks together and hot glued the space in between.

IMG_1409

I turned the corks over and inserted the card. Viola, easy cork stand! I was shocked how quickly this project went. I completed 75 cork stands in 45 minutes.

I highly recommend these projects to anyone who wants to incorporate some wine related projects in their wedding.  It was super easy and fast and you get to see how truly gorgeous some wine corks are.

Aren't these gorgeous?!

Aren’t these gorgeous?!

Anyone using corks for their wedding?

Leave a Reply

