Ceremony Music: Game On

I have a confession to make. I am kind of a geek- a video-game playing, anime watching, and J-Pop loving geek.

Showing off my Japanese fashion skills

Showing off my Japanese fashion skills

The good thing is that Mr.G is too so we can play video games and watch anime together!

We both wanted to make both of our weddings be very “us” and we were always looking for ways to portray that in the wedding while still keeping it classy.

One night we were both on the couch discussing what music we would use for the recessional. We had mostly been joking, “Let’s walk down the aisle to Michael Jackson’s Thriller!” “No, let’s walk down the aisle to theme of Jem and the Holograms!” Then Mr. G had a brilliant idea “Hey, why don’t we use the theme for Final Fantasy?”

Mr. G and I both love the video game Final Fantasy and most of the music for the games are beautiful orchestrations by the composer Nobuo Uematsu. We quickly YouTubed the video and knew this would be perfect for our recessional.

After we decided on the recessional music Mr. G lost all interest in choosing music and went back to playing video games. I later choose Beethoven’s Ode to Joy for the processional since I wanted something more upbeat, and Wagner’s Bridal March for my walk down the aisle since that’s the song I hummed when I played “wedding” as a kid.

I cannot wait to walk down the aisle with Mr. G as Final Fantasy plays. No one, besides my equally geeky brother, will probably know the song.

My equally geeky brother doing cosplay

My equally geeky brother doing cosplay

Everyone else will think its just beautiful music, but for me and Mr. G it will be our special secret.

How did you go about choosing your ceremony music?
Did you choose a special song for the two of you?

Leave a Reply

