Summer Reading: Wedding Edition

I love books. I read them while I am on the train and I listen to them while I clean the house. My love of books started at a young age. I would beg my parents to let me read at the dinner table during dinner time, and the only time I ever got detention was when I was in the 5th grade and I got in trouble for reading a Baby-Sitters Club book during math class.

Once I became engaged I immersed myself in all things wedding. I listened to wedding podcasts such as Say Yes to the Dress: Monte’s Take on my iPod, I read wedding magazines like Martha Stewart Weddings (I feel that all other magazines are just pages and pages of advertisements. Martha Stewart actually has useful ideas), and of course I watched tons of wedding shows such as Four Weddings, and My Fair Wedding with David Tutera (I love David Tutera, he is the Oprah of wedding planning).

Surprisingly, immersing myself in TV shows and podcasts was not enough. I wanted more and decided that books about weddings were the way to go. I went online, and at first I could only find non-fiction books on wedding planning, but after a while I was able to find quite a few good fiction books that I wanted to recommend them to you. Now these books are not any great literary works like War and Peace, but I think they are perfect for summer reading.

One- There’s Cake in My Future by Kim Gruenenfelder

photo from Amazon.com

photo from Amazon.com

This book does not have too much to do with wedding planning, but I had lots of fun reading it. I also loved learning about the wedding cake pull tradition.

2. The Bride Quartet by Nora Roberts

b1 b2 b3 b4

All photos from Amazon.com

This is a series of four books about four friends who run a wedding planning business. I am currently on book three and I am loving every minute of it! It has romance and wedding planning. I could not think of a better mix! Reading book four will be bittersweet as I won’t be able to read any new books about these four wonderful characters that I have really learned to enjoy.

 

I am still on the look out for more wedding books. I saw that Sophie Kinsella, writer of the Shopaholic series, has a new book titled The Wedding Night. I can’t wait to dive into that!

 

Have you found any good fiction books on weddings or wedding planning?

Leave a Reply

