Japanese Invites: Part 2

Once the main invitations were done, I moved on to designing our RSVP cards. Mr. G was against having any sort of RSVP card since the bulk of our guests are our coworkers whom we see every day and could verbally tell us if they were able to go (this is common practice in Japan). Our other guests were friends who lived overseas in the States, Australia, and the UK and would either have to pay their own postage on the RSVP card or RSVP digitally. In the end I decided to skip the RSVP card and have our guest RSVP online at our website. I was a bit sad that our invitations would not be as formal, but it was the easier and more efficient option for us.  I included a RSVP/Website card in our invitation suite that informed our guests that they could RSVP on our website or speak to us directly .

Our RSVP website card. It basically says that you can get wedding information and RSVP at our website.

Our RSVP/ Website card. It basically says that you can get wedding information and RSVP at our website.

We have a few non-computer savvy older guests and I made about 10 simple RSVP cards especially for them.

The last card I designed  was our After- Party info card with a map of the location in relation to our reception venue and the time.

Our after party info card

Our after party info card

I designed both of the cards in Photoshop and had them printed by Vistaprint as business cards. I had a coupon from Vistaprint that made business card printing for free so we only paid for the upload fee and the shipping. Yay!

I received all of the paper goods for the invitation suite and then realized something awful.  I had unfortunately made a few mistakes. One, I forgot to write the RSVP deadline on the RSVP/Website card.  Two, I forgot to write the price of the after party (guests pay their own way at the after party) on the after party card.  I wanted to bash my head in the wall once I had realized this. To remedy the situation, Mr. G and I decided to put labels on the back on the cards instead of paying to have the cards redone. I hate those labels! My advice, make a list of everything you plan to include on the invitation so you don’t forget it like me.

I love the trend of using twine rather than belly bands to bind everything together so I punched holes in the bottom corner of the cards and tied them all together with twine.  The process of binding the invitation suite went surprisingly fast. I cut out all the string and set up an assembly line. It took Mr. G and I about 90 minutes to get 70 invitations bound and stuffed into envelopes.

IMG_1743

Before

I also included a handwritten note with all of the the information written in English for our English- only guests.

I love the “country” feel that the twine gives the invites. I think our guest will be very surprised by our “American” invitations. It was also much cheaper to make our own invitations rather than purchasing them from our venue.

Price Breakdown

Floral Heart Design from iStockphoto: $21

Printing and Shipping from Vistaprint for invitations and two sets of business cards: $56

Envelopes: Free from Vistaprint

Twine: $2

Labels: $1

Grand Total: $80

So our 70 invitations were about $1.14 per person.  That is almost half the price of our venue’s invitations!

What extras did you add in your invitation suite? Did you make any mistakes like me?

Leave a Reply

