What Favors Do You Favor?

I’m just going to come right out and say it: I’ve never been a fan of non-edible wedding favors.  I once got a CD of the couple’s favorite songs as a favor and threw it in the trash (Our music tastes were very different). I once got a shot glass with the couple’s name and wedding date on it. It now lies unused in a dark corner of a kitchen cabinet. (I don’t feel like it belongs to me- it has their name on it, not mine.) I’m sure other people enjoy favors like these, I just don’t.

I decided to have a dessert bar at my American wedding because I figure people like to eat dessert and I’ve always enjoyed edible favors.  I also like the freedom of it- people can choose only what they and take it home and I could have all of the leftovers. It’s a win-win deal!

I wish I could have this dessert bar. Image via

I wish I could have this dessert bar. Image via cupcakesandcutlery.com

Or at least that is what  I thought until the day my mother called and said, “ I just don’t think the dessert bar is enough. I think we should have something else we can give the guests, like chopsticks.”  My mind went to the kitchen drawer of her house where the chopsticks I brought back from Japan have mostly laid untouched.  I said I would think about of and get back to her. I can understand her reasoning for wanting an additional favor, but I don’t want to waste money on something that will get thrown away.

So Hive, I want to know. Would you appreciate a pair of chopsticks as a wedding favor? If you could get a wedding favor from Japan what would it be?

Leave a Reply

