Wedding What-Ifs

As the wedding draws closer, I’m feeling equal parts excited and nervous. I’m excited to have a big party, have lots of fun, and see all my friends and family together in Japan. I’m also excited about all of the attention I will be getting on the day of the wedding which is a shock to me. I’m usually quite shy and dreaded the idea of all I eyes on me on the day of the wedding, but friends and family have been showering me with attention as the day draws closer and I’m surprised to say I like it.

I’m nervous about, well, lots of things. I wake up in the middle of the night and a string of “What ifs” pop into my head. What if no uses the photo booth? What if no one thinks that any of the funny stuff we plan is funny? What if we run late for everything and the entire day feels rushed and I don’t remember a single moment of it? I worry about these things because I can’t control them and I hate not being in control.

Then I have my extremely irrational worries. What if I get appendicitis right before the wedding? What if I get into an accident and break my arm and I have to cancel the wedding? I know these worries are irrational, but I just can’t help going to the worst case scenario. I have this awful habit of expecting something to go wrong when I’m extremely happy. I’m so excited about the wedding that I’m terrified something is going to go horribly wrong.

I’m doing my best, however, to only worry about things that I actually have control over. For example, I’m trying to figure out a way to get all of my non- Japanese speaking guests from their hotels to the venue on the day of the wedding. The venue is a bit difficult to get to as it is in the heart of the city and it is impossible to take a taxi there. Japanese streets are notoriously difficult to navigate so there is no way a map would work. So far the basic plan is to have a few bilingual friends go to the hotels to pick everyone up. This plan is the best one I can think of, but of course I’m worried about guests being late and oversleeping due to jet lag.

I’m excited for the weddings, but I’ll be so glad when it is over so I can finally stop worrying.

What are you worrying about for your upcoming wedding? Is it completely irrational or something you can control?

Leave a Reply

