That’s Amore: Cocktails and a Little TMI

Once the ceremony was over, our guests were shuttled to the pool area of the golf club for cocktail hour. While the guests were being transported away, Mr. G and I took a few more photos of just the two of us before the sun set and then headed to cocktail hour as well.

cici-711

Mr. G takes the wheel!

When we made it to the pool area, Mr. G headed toward the party at cocktail hour and I headed to the ladies room. I’d been worried about how I would use the bathroom in my wedding dress. I’d read Mrs. Cola’s  very helpful post on how to pee at your party early in the wedding planning process, but I realized (a little too late)  that I couldn’t follow the advice in my mermaid dress as it was way too tight around that area. Taking off my dress would be the only way I could safely go and I was worried about how I would get it back on. Fortunately, my DOC followed me into the bathroom and helped me get out and back into my dress.

I soon headed to cocktail hour.  I don’t have too many photos from cocktail hour, which is unfortunate because I would have loved to have shown the photos of the we food we had which was a buffet of sushi (Which was so yummy.  I love American sushi!) and vegetable and cheese platters. We also had an open bar.

cici-94

Cocktail hour at the pool area of the golf club

Remember the huge fight I had with my mother about cocktail hour seating? She wanted none and I wanted enough for everyone. Well, as you can tell from these two photos below, we did half and half. We had high top tables as well as tables with chairs. Everyone seemed pretty comfortable.

cici-714

Guests sitting at tables

cici-104

Guests standing at high tops

Once I got to cocktail hour my DOC handed me a flute of champagne and I was immediately greeted by guests wishing me and Mr. G their best. It was great receiving so much positive energy from so many people. There were quite a few guests that I’d never met before so there were lots of “Nice to meet you’s.” Our cocktail hour went by incredibly fast. I think I had about two bites of sushi and spent the rest of the time introducing Mr. G to my extended family or speaking with the guests. Before I knew it, it was time to head to the reception. This was extremely fortunate. Our reception started at 6.30pm and it started to rain at 6.31pm. A few of our guests may have gotten a few raindrops on them, but most missed the rain. I felt so lucky that we had such good timing!

How are you planning on doing seating at cocktail hour?

This may be TMI, but does anyone have a game plan for using the bathroom in their wedding dress? If you have a mermaid dress I recommend you find someone to help you. I don’t think I could have gone alone.

All photography by Courtney Ortiz.

recap icon

Miss a recap?

We have our rehearsal dinner,.

We set up the venue,

We do our first look and family photos.

The sushi at cocktail hour was great.

We blatantly copy the internet. 

Our boss gives a speech.

We say Kampai!

We cut the cake.

A quick guide to Japanese wedding receptions.

My bouquet toss was an epic fail.

I change my dress. 

Our guests ate and drank.

There were tears. 

We had a receiving line.

We had an after-party.

We tried to have a zero wedding. 

We head to America!

We receive some great OOT bags.

We have our rehearsal dinner. 

We get ready for the wedding.

We pose for a few photos.

We jump into golf carts.

We have our ceremony.

We use streamers to end the ceremony.

Leave a Reply

