That’s Amore: Junkanoo

It was a bit difficult to dance in my wedding dress so after an hour or so of dancing I changed into my blue dress. My stepmother changed her dress as well.

cici-962

Everyone dancing to the “Electric Slide.” Can you believe that Mr. G had never danced to that song before?!

Before I knew it, it was time for our sendoff. The plan had been to have a sparkler send-off for me and Mr. G, but my stepmother had another surprise for us– a Junkanoo!

cici-978

A junkanoo is a type of street parade from the Bahamas (I think the closest comparison would be the second-line that takes place in New Orleans). My family is Bahamian- American and my stepmother thought it would be a good idea to celebrate Mr. G’s family”s culture at the beginning of the reception with Taiko drummers and celebrate my family’s culture at the end of the reception with a junkanoo. The junkanoo dancers came out in beautiful costumes and got everyone dancing. I was shocked that my stepmother had surprised me again!

cici-981

 

cici-994

cici-278

Towards the end, they got everyone in a conga line and we danced around the hall and then outside toward our waiting limo.

cici-1012

We posed for a photo, said goodbye to everyone, got into our limo, and that was the end of the Gondola wedding reception!

 

Well not really… We planned for Mr. G and I to have our send off quite early (at about 10pm) because we knew we would be seriously jet lagged and probably wouldn’t be able to stay up dancing all night. We figured we would have an early send-off and if we still felt like dancing we would just go back inside and dance. Mr. G and I were totally exhausted, however, and just headed straight back to our condo after the wedding reception .

cici-999

I think this photo is a good illustration of how tired we were.

We left, but our guests kept on dancing for a few hours more! I now have all of these mysterious pictures of guests doing things I have no idea about.

cici-948

What are they looking at?!

cici-225

Did I miss the creation of a new dance move called “fix the tie?”

cici-878

 

Why did my photographer take a picture of shoes?!

How are you celebrating your culture at your wedding? Does anyone have any unexplained wedding photos?

All photography by Courtney Ortiz.

recap icon

Miss a recap?

We have our rehearsal dinner,.

We set up the venue,

We do our first look and family photos.

The sushi at cocktail hour was great.

We blatantly copy the internet. 

Our boss gives a speech.

We say Kampai!

We cut the cake.

A quick guide to Japanese wedding receptions.

My bouquet toss was an epic fail.

I change my dress. 

Our guests ate and drank.

There were tears. 

We had a receiving line.

We had an after-party.

We tried to have a zero wedding. 

We head to America!

We receive some great OOT bags.

We have our rehearsal dinner. 

We get ready for the wedding.

We pose for a few photos.

We jump into golf carts.

We have our ceremony.

We use streamers to end the ceremony.

I try to use the bathroom in my wedding dress. 

Taiko!

We get the party started!

The food and cake.

 

Leave a Reply

