The Porch

I have lived in Japan for way too long. I can’t remember if saying “See you!” when saying goodbye to someone is natural English or not. Native English speakers say “See you later” or “See you around,” no one just says “See you” right? Or am I going crazy?

Masa and I got a new doormat for our porch. He likes it because he loves Dachshunds. I like it because of the weird English, or at least I think its weird.

DSCF1642

We got the doormat to dress up our small “porch” area. You exit the elevator, turn right, and come to our little gate.

DSCF1644

The porch is  a pretty decent size and I thought it would be a fun area to decorate.  Masa and I bought two fake trees and I got a few cute supplies from the Japanese dollar store.  It took me about 20 minutes to get everything set up.

DSCF1690

I’m quite pleased with how it all came out.

You may be wondering how I got our name on the wooden plate.  I have horrible penmanship, but I didn’t want to pay for a personalized name plate. I’d seen a few pins on Pinterest about transferring pictures to wood and I thought I would give it a try. I  found a great tutorial on transferring a picture printed from an inkjet printer to wood.

I typed our name into Microsoft Word and mirror imaged it. I took off all of the labels from an adhesive label sheet and printed our name on the film sheet. I pressed it against the wood and…. it came out miserably light. All you could see was a blurry outline of the words. This wasn’t a major problem though. I just traced over the outline with a magic marker.

I plan on decorating the trees for different holidays. Our neighbors will probably think it’s super weird as this isn’t usually done in Japan, but I don’t really care. They are going to have to get use to my American hi-jinks.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Porch

  1. I don’t use it often, but I know I’ve used “see ya!” upon parting with people in the past (and there’s the infamous, “see ya (or ‘c ya’), wouldn’t want to be ya!”). But I wouldn’t say it’s truly common.

  2. Pingback: Buying a Condo in Japan: Part Five | martinigirlsakeworld

  3. Pingback: Buying a Condo in Japan: Remodeling | martinigirlsakeworld

Leave a Reply

