Jizo Statues

I’m so lucky to see these beautiful Jizo statues on my way to work.

20140710-204053-74453781.jpg

Jizo is the patron deity of deceased children and aborted fetuses. He delivers babies’ spirits from limbo, beats up demons, and fulfills wishes. The neighborhood Buddhists often dress the statues up in bibs and children’s clothing as a sign of respect and care.

20140710-204705-74825059.jpg

This one is nice and warm for winter

20140710-204838-74918458.jpg

This one is all ready for school

Sometimes I get so tired of living in a foreign country and all I want to do is go back to the States. Then suddenly I will stumble across something so foreign and mystical, like a Jizo statue, and I’ll feel so happy to live here.

Follow me on Instagram

4 thoughts on “Jizo Statues

  1. Those little statues are one of my favorite things to come across in Japan! I especially love how their wardrobe/accessories change with the seasons. It’s wonderful that people take the time and effort to dress them up, I love that about Japan! And thank you for stopping by my blog to say hello! I was so excited to see that you are living/crafting in Japan when I clicked over- I visit my dear friends every couple years and was just there in April/May! I’m sure I will figure this out as I peruse your archives, but what part of the country do you live in? Okay, enough rambling. Have a great day!

    • I live in the Kansai region near Kyoto. I use to live in Osaka before that. What part of Japan did you visit? I’m so happy to find someone who loves these statues too!

Leave a Reply

