Semi-Bridesmaids Gifts

I am not having bridesmaids at my Japanese or American weddings. In Japan, there is no such things as bridesmaids and  I don’t have anyone that I am that close to in Florida. I do, however, have 5 women who are helping me a lot with the Japanese wedding and I wanted to get them a few “semi-bridesmaid” gifts.

I just want to say that I am horrible at gift giving. If I could just give everyone money I would be very happy, but that is considered rude so I had to really put my thinking cap on for this.

I don't know about you, but I would be happy with any of these gifts.

I don’t know about you, but I would be happy with any of these gifts.

Images: Top Left- Money Umbrella- Image via theseasonalhome.com Top Right- Money Tree- Image via thenshemade.com Bottom Left- Balloons filled with money-Image via choosecraftiness.blogspot.com

Unfortunately, my thinking cap did not work, so  I called my sister and she helped me out.  My sister is an amazing gift giver and party planner so I knew she would be helpful.

First, we looked for something fun to put the gifts into. I had a 50% coupon for Vistaprint and we decided to buy all of my semi-bridesmaids personalized tote bags with their names on them. Grocery stores in my region of Japan  no longer give out free plastic bags so I am hoping they will be able to use them as eco-friendly shopping bags. I went through the designs Vistaprint offered, found a design that matched their personality, and added their names.

My bags for my girls

My bags for my girls. Pardon the white boxes- had to cover up some personal info

After that my sister suggested we get them something to wear so we went to oldnavy.com and got very cute pairs of pj pants for all of them. My sister then suggested that I buy two more small things for each of of the girls and left me on my own.

I am now in gift giving limbo. I want to get the ladies something that they can actually use and that is under $20, but that turns out to be pretty difficult. Right now I am currently debating make- up pouches, Godiva Chocolates, and L’occitane bath soap. I have also been all over Pinterest and Etsy looking for good bridesmaids gifts.

I wish my girls liked to cook!

I wish my girls liked to cook!   Image via knivescookslove.com / Photography by Andrews McMeel

Or tea lovers- a beautiful tea wreath. Image via kojo-designs.com/

Or tea lovers- a beautiful tea wreath. Image via kojo-designs.com/

 

I thought personalized beach towels would be nice, but none of them are really beach goers.

photo from etsy.com

Image via Etsy Shop: Occasions Embroidery

Once I do settle on gifts for them, I will mail it to them all on the day of wedding so they won’t have to carry it around all night. It is another additional cost, but I think they will be grateful for the convenience and who doesn’t like getting things in the mail?!

Where did you find your bridesmaid gift inspiration? Do you have any gift ideas for me?

Leave a Reply

